I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2011 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 285-31 (COR)

Introduced by:

2

Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr.

R. J. Respicio

T. C. Ada

V. Anthony Ada

F. F. Blas, Jr.

B. J.F. Cruz

Chris M. Dueñas

Judith P. Guthertz, DPA

Sam Mabini, Ph.D.

T. R. Muña Barnes

v. c. pangelinan

Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr.

M. Silva Taijeron

Aline A. Yamashita, Ph.D.

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to congratulating the newly-elected Officers and Board of Directors of the Filipino-American Presidents Club of Guam (FAPCG) on the occasion of their induction; to commending the FAPCG outgoing Officers and Board of Directors; and to further extending a sincere *Un Dångkulo Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse* to the FAPCG members for their contributions to our island community.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I

MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

- 3 WHEREAS, the Filipino-American Presidents Club of Guam (FAPCG) was
- 4 established in 1984 as a non-profit organization, with the aim of supporting the

1 community of Guam through various civic, educational and humanitarian endeavors;

2 and

WHEREAS, the FAPCG is comprised of past Presidents and Vice-Presidents of various Filipino-American ethnic and international organizations, and its membership is open to other Filipino-Americans who subscribe to the goals and objectives of the organization; and

WHEREAS, the Filipino-American Presidents Club of Guam encourages the continuance of Filipino cultural values, while also encouraging unity among former Philippine residents and the various ethnic communities which also call Guam home; and

WHEREAS, among the many civic causes that the FAPCG has given assistance to include the American Red Cross, the American Cancer Society, the Saint Dominic's Senior Care Home, the Guam *Lytico* and *Bodig* Association, the Santa Barbara Church Parish for *Simbang Gabi* during the Christmas holidays, *Guma' Måmi*, the Homeless Feeding Program, the Filipino Community of Guam *Parol* contest, the Blindless Foundation of the Philippines, the donation of wheelchairs to the Guam Memorial Hospital, and the annual Santa Cruzan Parade held at the *Agaña* Shopping Center; and

WHEREAS, the FAPCG has also contributed to various humanitarian efforts, including fundraisers for patients requiring off-island medical treatment, families who have suffered the loss of a loved one, and collection drives to help victims of natural disasters, including the Filipino Community of Guam Leyte Mudslide Fund and the Hurricane Katrina Fund; and

WHEREAS, the FAPCG also supports the education of Guam's children and it annually funds a scholarship program at the University of Guam. In the last decade, the organization awarded scholarships to ten (10) students who graduated from

1 Eskuelahan Munti, a weekend school program that encourages students to speak

2 Tagalog; and

WHEREAS, the FAPCG diligently donates time, effort, and money to civic activities; to beautification projects, such as the maintenance of the Archbishop Felixberto Flores Memorial Statue; and to charitable organizations aimed at benefiting the people of Guam; now therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina'Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, congratulate the newly-elected officers and Board of Directors of the Filipino-American Presidents Club of Guam on the occasion of their induction; does commend the FAPCG outgoing Officers and Board of Directors; and does further extend a sincere *Un Dångkulo Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse* to the FAPCG members for their contributions to our island community; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mrs. Concepcion Viray, Outgoing President, FAPCG; to Mrs. Gloria Baguinon, Incoming President, FAPCG; to the Honorable Edgar Tomas Auxilian, Acting Head of Post, Philippine Consulate General Office of Guam; and to the Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 6TH DAY JANUARY 2012.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D.

Speaker

JUDITH P. GUTHERTZ, DPA

Acting Chairperson, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES

Legislative Secretary